FPSF Announces 2016 Lineup with Headliners Deadmau5, Modest Mouse, The National

FPSF_2013-8We’re firm believers that Houston doesn’t get the recognition it deserves when it comes to its cultural offerings. One staple of the city’s music scene is Free Press Summer Festival, held each year around the beginning of June. The event runs just two days, which will be Saturday and Sunday, June 4-5 in 2016. While it may not be the biggest festival in Texas, FPSF is always excellently curated and offers a chance to see great bands in a festival environment that hasn’t become too overcrowded. Today’s initial lineup announcement revealed that Deadmau5, Modest Mouse, and The National will headline the event, which will also include Leon Bridges, Jamie XX, Matt and Kim, Refused, Violent Femmes, Built to Spill, Mac Demarco, Blue Healer, and Walker Lukens, among others. As is common for the festival, they’ve done a great job of balancing big names with artists renowned in their genre, classic bands, and rising acts. We’re sure the festival will continue to announce acts in the coming months, and we’ll have more on the festival as it approaches. Until then, here are five tracks that already have us excited for FPSF 2016. Get your tickets here!

About author
Bryan Parker is a writer and photographer living and working in Austin, TX. He is the founder of blog Pop Press International and print journal True Sincerity and recently released his first book, a volume on Beat Happening in the 33 1/3 series.

Pop Press International © 2018 All Rights Reserved

All photos licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress