The Young Instore at End of an Ear

End of an Ear is as great a spot as one can hope for to attend an instore. It lacks any pretentiousness, maintaining the cool, relaxed feel of a neighborhood house show with the added bonus of the ability to browse vinyl. Last week, the record store hosted Austin’s The Young who just released their second full-length Dub Egg on indie stalwart Matador. The ice chest full of canned beer and boxes of pizza were a refreshing alternative to a sprawling line originating from a beer sponsor’s keg. The scene was ripe for the two psych-rock groups that were set to perform.

John Wesley Coleman opened with a short set made notable by the raucous and good natured jeering and banter between the band and their fans and friends in attendance. The group’s brand of psychedelia often leans toward country with their twangy but rocked up songcraft. Lead singer John Wesley Coleman also fronts Austin staple the Golden Boys, and his musical experience is clear in his confident delivery.

Following a quick set change, The Young kicked things off with power. Lead singer Hans Zimmerman delivers lyrics with tenacity and conviction, and the rest of the band members are tight and focused.  While The Young are by no means afraid to foray into substantial bouts of instrumentally focused psych riffs, the songs on the whole are accessible and clean takes on psych-rock. We all love a heavy jam, but the Young offer a more subtle take on the genre. The group is on tour for the next month plus. Below, you can hear a single from their record, which is out now on Matador, and check out the dates.

Stream Livin’ Free:

 

Friday, June 22 — Atlanta, GA – Criminal Records in-store @ 6:30PM
Friday, June 22 – Atlanta, GA – Club 529 (FREE SHOW) – Info
Saturday, June 23 — Charlotte, NC – Snug Harbor (with White Lung & Meat Group) – Info
Sunday, June 24 – Richmond, VA – Strange Matter (with Purling Hiss) – Tickets
Monday, June 25 – Washington, DC – the Black Cat (backstage) (with Purling Hiss) Tickets
Tuesday, June 26 – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s (with Purling Hiss) – Tickets
Wednesday, June 27 – New York, NY – Mercury Lounge (late show) (with Purling Hiss) –Tickets
Thursday, June 28 – Hoboken, NJ – Maxwell’s (with Purling Hiss) – Tickets
Friday, June 29 – Brooklyn, NY – 285 Kent (with Census and Nude Beach)
Saturday, June 30 – New Haven, CT – Intercambio (with Purling Hiss and Estrogen Highs) – tickets available at Intercambio and Redscroll Records
Sunday, July 01 – Providence, RI – Dusk (with Purling Hiss)
Monday, July 02 – Boston, MA – Plough and Stars (with Purling Hiss and Saralee) – Info
Tuesday, July 03 – Montreal, QC – Il Motore Info
Wednesday, July 04 – Toronto, ON – the shop under Parts & Labour – Tickets
Thursday, July 05 – Pittsburgh, PA – Gooski’s (with Kim Phuc)
Friday, July 06 – Cleveland, OH – Now That’s Class – Info
Saturday, July 07 – Chicago, IL – Permanent Records in-store @ 5:30PM – Info
Saturday, July 07 – Chicago, IL – the Hideout (with Judson Claiborne) – Tickets
Sunday, July 08 – Minneapolis, MN – the Triple Rock – Tickets
Monday, July 09 – Fargo, ND – the Aquarium – Tickets
Wednesday, July 11 – Seattle, WA – The Fun House – Tickets
Thursday, July 12 – Portland, OR – the East End – Info
Friday, July 13 – Reno, NV – Holland Project – Info
Saturday, July 14 – Oakland, CA – 1-2-3-4 GO! Records - (with Spray Paint) – Info
Sunday, July 15 – San Francisco, CA – the Hemlock – Info
Monday, July 16 – Bakersfield, CA – Munoz Gym
Tuesday, July 17 – Los Angeles, CA – Origami Vinyl @ 5:15PM – Info
Tuesday, July 17 – Los Angeles, CA – the Echo (with the Lamps and the Zig Zags) – Tickets
Wednesday, July 18 – San Diego, CA – M-Theory in-store @ 5:15PM – Info
Wednesday, July 18 – San Diego, CA – the Casbah
Thursday, July 19 – Phoenix, AZ – the Meat Market
Friday, July 20 – Las Cruces, NM – the Train Yard

About author
Bryan Parker is a writer and photographer living and working in Austin, TX. He is the founder of blog Pop Press International and print journal True Sincerity and is working on his first book, a volume in the 33 1/3 series.

Pop Press International © 2014 All Rights Reserved

All photos licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress